#WVW 35 // Sensitivity

I’ve always been a sensitive person. There have been many times in my life when I wished this wasn’t the case, because being “sensitive” is often seen as a negative. Today, during one of my endless scrolls through Facebook, I came across an article on emotional intelligence which suggested that people with a high emotional intelligence aren’t easily offended; they have thick skin because they know who they are.

I was reminded of all the times intentionally hurtful words stuck with me, and the times unintentionally hurtful words stuck too. Cruel rumors, things said behind my back, things said to my face (or perhaps, from their computer to mine)..the thought makes me uneasy. I always wanted to be one of those people who said, “who cares what they think” and “forget the haters”. At times I have acted that way to save face, but in reality I was probably crushed.

Perhaps this sensitive nature is the reason why I work so hard to please everyone, and to do everything in my power to make people like me, or perhaps it’s vice versa, or it’s just a constant two-way cause & effect. The words that come to mind are weakinsecureimmature..all that negative stuff. Thumbs down.

But in looking up the definition of the word “sensitive” (as per usual before any #WordVomitWednesday post), I was reminded of the positive connotations of this word.

“quick to detect or respond to slight changes, signals, or influences.”
“(of a person or a person’s behavior) having or displaying a quick and delicate appreciation of others’ feelings.”
synonyms: tactful, thoughtful, careful, diplomatic, compassionate, understanding, insightful

This is the type of sensitivity I value in others, and the type I hope to display. Sometimes this looks like knowing when a joke should go no further, or not saying certain things that could trigger a negative emotion or memory for someone else, or knowing when something isn’t right without being told. In this sense, I think sensitivity is beautiful. “Weak”, “insecure”, “immature” no longer come to mind. I’ll probably never be that “who cares what they think” kind of person, but I hope that through this “weakness” of mine, the strength can develop.

This is a lot shorter than normal, but my thought process can literally go no further. Thanks for reading!


#WVW from friends:
Brian // Xing // Jenine // Josh // Judy // Esther // Justin // Hnou

If you’re new to my blog, #WVW (Word Vomit Wednesday) is a fun little weekly challenge my friend Brian and I started to encourage more consistent and authentic writing. The point is to write down, or word vomit, whatever comes to mind, with lots of vulnerability along the way. Many have joined in on the fun, and you should too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

